You're reading...
Blogging 101, Writing 101

Writing 101 – Be Brief…for today


writing 101 class

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

I walked my usual path up to the recreation center of the compound, when a piece of paper fluttered to a stop in front of me. Instincts warred within me, do I pick it up, or do I let the breeze blow it away? As if on cue, the breeze lifted it away from me but I found myself reaching out to pluck it from within its grasp.

Turning it over, I read blurred lines because of the glare of the disc shining high above. I decided to change my course for today and headed home, eagerly awaiting an opportunity to exhibit my voyeuristic tendencies.

I locked my front door, as soon as I entered in and brought the letter up to read…

“Dear Residents of Villas……,

Please note that the 15th of September shall be an opportunity for everyone to let their hair down by the pool side. Please come by at 7 pm with this letter in hand and find yourself admitted to the most uproarious party possible in the compound. If possible, do bring a dish or two. Else a crate of drinks,

Your Compound Representative….”

A party! Why that’s just, wait a minute, today is the 19th! I missed it! and the paper fluttered to the ground again.

About Sanaa Tarneem

The best thing about being a woman, is to have a little fun... Straightforward, forthright, simple at heart, a foodie, an explorer, extremely adaptable to life!...a lawyer, a closet writer, a good friend, a not-so-secret agony aunt...the list could go on, but the only way is to find out is by reading...

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Be Brief…for today

  1. Love it! Imaginative and delightful. 🙂

    Posted by Lorna's Voice | 09/19/2014, 6:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Missed earlier posts? Read here

